The Beginning (Ta da)

Current favourite composer: Carl Vine
Currently listening to: Symphony No. 2 by Carl Vine

Hello Internet. Welcome to my blog. After reading other people’s blogs (particularly the blog of Graham Edwards, an author I discovered tonight), I decided to try this out. Historically, I have not been very good at keeping anything like updated but I’ll see how I go with this. I am moving away from home this year to study composition at Queensland Conservatorium and this is one good way to let my mother know what I have been up to.

I now wish to advertise my latest and most epic project, the Pokemon Orchestrated: Red Version piece I spent 3 January 2010 to 15 January 2010 writing. Being frustrated with the Pokemon ‘orchestrations’ I found on YouTube, I wanted to create a “standout” one. This is the result:

Please Enjoy.

On another note, I am very grateful to have been offered a place at the college I applied to late last year. One of the best things about it is that I have many friends from school already staying there, one of whom I have known since preschool. I hope that I can keep up lessons on piano however since my focus has somewhat shifted to other areas, I’ll have to see how I am going.

I have been listening to and enjoying Carl Vine’s Choral Symphony today, as well as his symphonies. I still haven’t heard his Piano Concerto, but I would like to because it was the theme of the 2008 Sydney International Piano Competition, in which I heard the last minute of one of the movements.

I’ve been enjoying playing the trombone in a community concert band and now I have a bit of an idea of what it’s like to play the trombone, so hopefully that will help me when I go to write for that instrument.

Check back at a later date for more posts!

One thought on “The Beginning (Ta da)

Leave a Reply

