Semester 2 2010 Part 1

Now that it’s the mid-semester break, I thought I would give you an update of what I’ve been doing for the past few weeks. While I haven’t been writing as much music as I did in the first part of the last semester, I have been analysing the works of other composers as my teacher Gerard Brophy has suggested, in order to improve my understanding of the way music works.

Namely I’ve been looking at Ravel’s Le Gibet from Gaspard de la Nuit, Debussy’s first and second preludes from book 1, the Bach chorales, Density 21.5 by Edgard Varese and The Sorcerer’s Apprentice by Paul Dukas.

I made an attempt to write part of a new piano concerto, although there are many things that could be improved and it is plain to see that there is a long way to go. Also on the board is a trombone octet which I’ve been wanting to write for a while but have been having trouble structuring. For my grandmother’s funeral I created a solo piano piece called “a step in the next direction”. It will accompany a slideshow of photos which has been put together by her family.

As I’m very interested in working in film score professionally, I’ve been trying to get some experience by collaborating with some of the students at the nearby Griffith Film School. As a result of my efforts on a short advertisement called “Share Happy”, advertising Streets ice cream, I was asked to write a number of horror cues for a ten-minute film entitled “The Horror of the Beach Monster”.

Even though I have a break for this week, I am still very busy with a number of assignments for the conservatorium and other things to catch up on.

I was notified of an opportunity to attend a series of workshops organised by Speak Percussion in which, if my application is successful, I will be able to work alongside four other composers and five percussionists to create works for percussion quartet. For my application I recorded a piece I wrote in 2009 called “Toccata for Mallets” which was performed in the Sunshine Coast Eisteddfod. You can find a video below.

I’ll try to keep you updated; I’m not so good with keeping a blog but it’s good to just let you know what is happening.

Leave a Reply

