Slaying the Dreamer by Nightwish (Piano)

Slaying the Dreamer is the fifth song from Century Child, probably my favourite Nightwish album. Trust me, I’ve put the album up against my next favourite (Once) many times, and I just like Century Child the most. It seems to have the most personal music Tuomas Holopainen has written in my opinion.

Slaying the Dreamer is so great when it gets to part 2. Oh my god, best. What a killer riff, it’s so fun to play it. I know that Tuomas Holopainen mentioned that Master Passion Greed is the heaviest song Nightwish have ever done, but in terms of sound, I think Slaying the Dreamer might be heavier. And it has the lyric “I truly hate you all!” Cathartic. It occurs to me that maybe Slaying the Dreamer is about music critics or people who told Tuomas he couldn’t make it with music. The lyrics are below for your convenience! Definitely some strong emotions in this one.

So Slaying the Dreamer is, in my opinion, probably the most metal song on Century Child. I did my best to keep that metal atmosphere in this piano cover. I would really love to do some more from this album – perhaps Beauty of the Beast, one of my very favourites.

Thank you to my patrons on Patreon for voting for Slaying the Dreamer as my next Nightwish piano cover! I will be doing more and more Nightwish covers and you can vote for them if you become a patron on Patreon!

Support me on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/composer1992

Previous Nightwish video: Planet Hell https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UCahSEAb98

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/composer1992
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/andrewwrangell
My website: https://composer1992.wordpress.com/
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/composer1992

Slaying the Dreamer lyrics:

I’m a priest for the poorest sacrifice
I’m but a raft in a sea of sorrow and greed
You bathed in my wine
Drank from my cup, mocked my rhyme
Your slit tongues licked my aching wounds

Put a stake through my heart!
And drag me into sunlight
So awake for your greed
As you’re slaying the dreamer

Swansong for the Wish of Night
God it hurts, give a name to the pain
Our primrose path to hell is growing weed

Blame me, it’s me
Coward, a good-for-nothing scapegoat
Dumb kid, living a dream
Romantic only on paper

Tell me why you took all that was mine!
Stay as you lay – don’t lead me astray!

Wake up, mow the weed
You’d be nothing without me
Take my life if you have the heart to die

You bastards tainted my tool
Raped my words, played me a fool
Gather your precious glitter and leave me be
The Great Ones are all dead
And I’m tired, too

I truly hate you all!

Leave a Reply

